Orthopedic Surgery or Neurosurgery??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WorkingTowardsMD123

Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new here-- I am just a student in college who wants to eventually become a doctor. I struggled with health complications for 4 years as a result of anorexia and now that I am recovered I want to be a meaningful person in others' lives. However! -- I do not want to go into psychiatry or even work with anorexia, because that field hits too close to home and even trying to help my friends with anorexia brings post-traumatic flashbacks to my mind.

I want to either become an Orthopedic Surgeon or a Neurosurgeon, as both fields are EXTREMELY intriguing to me. I am a straight-A student and have a very high work ethic. That said, I want to raise a family in the next ten years or so. I know that both of those fields often require hella long hours and neuro has a 5-7 year residency. I am willing to put in the work to do what I love, but not if it means there isn't time for family.....

Also, can anyone here provide input about whether they think their job was "worth it" (Ortho or Neuro)?

I probably sound very naive as I say these things. I recognize I am a teen still and do not entirely know what I am talking about. Nonetheless, I am really curious to know the pros and cons of each specialty, especially in regards to family time and level of interest.

Thank you soooo much.

Members don't see this ad.

Finishing up neurosurgery pgy4, ask me anything

ortho attending AMA

Pour yourself a glass of wine (only if you're > 21). Settle in. These are good places to get started. You have a lot of time so no need to worry about specialties just yet. But this forum is a goldmine for those willing to look.

PS - Also consider vascular surgery. Robust and healthy patient base. Extremely compliant. Short procedures. Minimal complications. Cheers.

Reactions: 21 users