Osteopathic Psychiatry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

neuropsych

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Any DO students interested in psychiatry? What does the osteopathic approach add to the practice of psychiatry?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I am a 2nd year student who is very interested in psychiatry.

I think the osteopathic philosophy of whole body healing is very suitable to the study of psychiatry.

I spoke to a residency director at a traditionally allopathic clinic and when she heard I was going to be a DO someday, she was very positive and said "we love DO psychiatrists".

Not much, but something to think about...

Members don't see this ad :)
neuro

You may consider doing a search of these forums.

I remember in the spring there was some talk about DOs in psychiatry. See what you come up with.

Good luck.

Cranial Manipulation could be a posibility.

Plus in general, if you have an older person who is in constant pain, which makes them depressed. OMT will rid them of somatic dysfunction if there is any present. This will in turn bring them to their functional potential which will increase their quality of life, which might relieve their depression.

The posibilities are really endless.