Oxbridge/general UK advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coucouloulou

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm a 3rd year BScH student in biomed science in Canada and I want to go back to Europe for med school (I'm a EU citizen) and I'm good with staying there.

I'd really like to attend med school in the UK and right now I'm considering Oxbridge, KCL and either ICL or Southampton.

For A-levels, I have what's equivalent to A* (I checked on the KCL website) for bio, chem/phys, math, English etc, so I think I'm in pretty good standing for regular entry (A100) programs.

I could also apply for graduate entry (A102/109) and gain 1-2 years but I'm worried about competing with MSc, PhD and people who worked for like 15 years. I'd need a 2:1 degree, which I think is a B+ average (right?). Would an A-/A average be first class honours?
I'm also going to be 18 at that point so I'm not sure unis would like to have me in their accelerated programs?

And is my school list too risky?

Sorry, so many questions... Thanks :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
I used to live in the UK and have quite a few friends in medical school there. They say students with degrees may apply A100 and with a degree already you'll definitely be seen as far more qualified than your average new high school grad. Similarly the BMAT will be trivial for you. Of course as I'm sure you're aware there is no "Oxbridge" - you can only put one on UCAS. Southampton is a fine school but given a choice between the two I'd pick Imperial 10 times out of 10, no questions there.
However. The current political situation is extremely fraught, especially regarding the status of EU students. With Brexit happening in 2019 (before you're proposing to start medical school), there are no guarantees that