P1 Burnout

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rx 4 MiSeRy

Troubadour
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know there is a similar thread on here right now but I really didn't want to hijack it. My first semester has gone really well.. So far my lowest grade is an 85 on a test, in my hardest class. BUT, I am studying for the second test which we have on Thursday and I swear I feel like I am not learning the material. I keep going over it and quizzing myself and I just feel dumb.

I have the worst possible test anxiety - and I am not sure why. I always used to pressure myself to get A's and B's but never like this. I get so worked up I can feel my heart rate speed up and beat funky. I just do not know if I can physically or mentally handle this for 3 years. Does it get better as the years go by? What should I do in the meantime to help with this test anxiety? Just don't know where else to go with this.

Members don't see this ad.

Well as tempting as that sounds, apathy would more than likely keep me from graduating on time. Do you know of any other way?

Members don't see this ad :)
lots of people use propranolol.

I've got apathy to spare and I still have >3.0 (it's 3.3ish). Totally doable to get As and Bs while riddled with apathy.

I guess I should have known better than talk about something serious on SDN. Thanks a bunch for all of your insight.

It you're melting down five weeks or so into your first semester, you will either let go of the perfectionism or you will melt down and flunk out.

I started out much like you. Now, I feel I'm doing good in the first semester of my third year to simply get a 'C'. That grade allows me somewhat of a life and a great deal of sanity. Testing in pharmacy school is artificial and has no relevance to the real world. Just play the game and pass - nobody (except you) really cares whether you got an A or a C on that kinetics exam.