Paid jobs in clinical setting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychstuca

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question for people on this forum who attend professional schools and work at the same time (or happen to know people like that).
I am looking for a part-time paid job to at least partially support myself when I am in school. My question: is it possible to find a part-time employment in clinical field for grad students in clinical psych? If these jobs exist, how can I find them?
So far I've only discovered two types of related positions that do not require license and sometimes do not require too much of clinical experience: Rehabilitation (worker, counselor) and Case manager. THe last one requires more experience. But these jobs are so scarce, I have applied and heard nothing.

I understand it all might heavily depend on the background. I have no extensive clinical background, just 1 yr of clinical practicum experience doing therapy and teaching psychoed classes for people with severe mentally illnesses. I also have done life coaching part-time for a few years. Being a mid-life career changer, I have plenty of other experiences from previous careers, but they are not related to clinical or working with clients (teaching (long time ago), business, science research). I am in Northern California.

Does anyone know students in Clinical Psych working paid jobs in the clinical or educational-clinical settings? What do they do?
I do know that many schools post related jobs for their students, but I am hoping to find a job before September, before the school starts... And I know these jobs don't pay a fortune, but I would prefer that to doing something totally irrelevant to my future career.

Thanks to anyone who will respond. Am I the only one having these thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.