Pass/Fail Question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

et1003

Reaction score
Hi there,

I am currently a 3rd year in undergrad on the pre-dental track. I just finished up my fall semester and Orgo II went extremely poorly. I ended with a D+ so will have to retake the class at another university (if I don't pass/fail). My other pre-reqs have gone decent (Orgo I being my best surprisingly). I only have a few left to complete and my science GPA currently is a 3.18. My school allows retroactive pass/fail and if I were to pass/fail Orgo II, I would have a 3.38 science GPA. I have not taken the DAT yet, but I am hoping that my score can displace this grade. I have heard many different things about dental schools and pass/failing classes, so I'm unsure what to do. If you could give some advice, it would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
im almost positive schools won’t accept the orgo 2 as pass/fail. You’ll have to retake and do well as they will average out the two grades.

And yes, doing well on the ochem section on the dat will certainly help you with schools given the grade

Hi there,

I am currently a 3rd year in undergrad on the pre-dental track. I just finished up my fall semester and Orgo II went extremely poorly. I ended with a D+ so will have to retake the class at another university (if I don't pass/fail). My other pre-reqs have gone decent (Orgo I being my best surprisingly). I only have a few left to complete and my science GPA currently is a 3.18. My school allows retroactive pass/fail and if I were to pass/fail Orgo II, I would have a 3.38 science GPA. I have not taken the DAT yet, but I am hoping that my score can displace this grade. I have heard many different things about dental schools and pass/failing classes, so I'm unsure what to do. If you could give some advice, it would be much appreciated. Thank you for your time!