Payback with Civilian Deferment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

armydoc

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just to make sure, I am a 4yr HPSP student given a civilian deferment for a 5 yr residency. My commitment is only 4 years, correct? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Just to make sure, I am a 4yr HPSP student given a civilian deferment for a 5 yr residency. My commitment is only 4 years, correct? Thanks in advance.[/quote

Depends on what you mean by deferrment. There are two types:

In a Civilian Facility on Active Duty (FTOS). A member subsidized by the DOD during training in a civilian facility shall incur an ADO of ½ year for each ½ year, or portion thereof, but the minimum ADO at the completion of the GME period shall not be less than 2 years.

ADOs for FTOS training are added to obligation existing at the time training begins.

In a Civilian Facility In a Deferred Status (NADDS). A member deferred for specialty training incurs no additional obligation as long as a 2-year obligation exists at the time the training begins. Members with less than 2 years of active duty obligation will incur a minimum 2-year ADO.

So FTOS would be a 5 year payback

Just to make sure, I am a 4yr HPSP student given a civilian deferment for a 5 yr residency. My commitment is only 4 years, correct? Thanks in advance.

Just out of curiosity, what type of residency are you doing? I had heard that deferments were almost impossible in the current milmed climate.

Members don't see this ad :)

If your program includes an internship year as your first year of "residency" training, that will not add an additional year, so it will still be 4 years if it's a military sponsored civilian deferment.

If you receive no additional funds from the Army, your commitment remains at 4 years.