paying for a private school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dr1989

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
im getting ready to apply this fall to this private school by my house (cal lutheran university-california) to get my bachelors in science. its a really good school that has great internships with the surrounding medical research companies such as baxter and amgen, etc. and i really like the calm envioronment that it has-very professional (im a no nonsense/no party girl when it comes to school:rolleyes:)

im a first generation college student in my family (parents are immigrants with only hs level education) and we do get support from the govt (very limited b/c my mom has a disability) and i want to get into the best pharmacy schools, and i know i will have to get loans for them when i start grad school-but i am thinking of going to a cal state school or a uc school instead because this private school is very expensive (18k a semester) (and this only for my ba chelors!)

i really wanted to go to this school but i had planned on getting loans once i start pharm school and not before that-hence i think i will go to a school like csun-cal state northridge (which is very populated and a bit away and less of an ideal envioronment for me)

i feel like i am comprising on my education based on the price for the respected schools, but with my family not being able to contribute and personally not wanting to start off with loans before even getting into pharm school (this is why i did my first two years at a cc), i feel like i should go to a cal state school, which, despite more population and lesser known for its biology program, i will at least save some money compared to the private school that i want to go.