• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

omletdefromage

7+ Year Member
Oct 27, 2011
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Medical
Hi friends,

I'm reaching out for thoughts/advice/help with re-writing my personal statement. I didn't realize until recently that I would need a whole new essay and with just a few days until the AMCAS application opens on May 1, I'm entering the freakout phase for not having a more or less rough draft.

A bit of background: I'm reapplying this year as a postgraduate, with a special focus on raising my MCAT score and writing a new personal statement. I majored in biochemistry, followed by a two-year postbac at NIH where I studied the influenza virus, earning co-authorship on a couple of papers. Now, I work in clinical research, where I was awarded a corporate research grant. I submitted a first-author abstract with my results and am working on my first manuscript.

I feel like I should have been able to crank something out but I'm having a serious case of writer's block. I want to talk about my research experiences and how grueling yet rewarding they have been and how they motivate me to become a physician so I can do even more.

Help me, SDN!

Sincerely,

omletdefromage

scarshapedstar

MD c/o 2016
5+ Year Member
Oct 13, 2010
Status (Visible)
Hi friends,

I'm reaching out for thoughts/advice/help with re-writing my personal statement. I didn't realize until recently that I would need a whole new essay and with just a few days until the AMCAS application opens on May 1, I'm entering the freakout phase for not having a more or less rough draft.