• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

increasedmonoamines

May 26, 2017
  1. Pre-Medical
I'm very new to the student doctor forum! Can anyone provide me any guidance on restrictions for a personal statement for post-bacc/SMP/MS?

For example, I'm aware of what can be too personal in personal statement essays ie. mental illnesses. Is there any other restrictions you would advise?

Also, if a school indicates that the personal statement is 500 words, should I remain in the 500-word capacity, or can I go over this? I've seen a few personal statement examples using 800-900 word counts.

Please answer kindly! Thank you.

Last edited:
About the Ads
Jun 11, 2010
Somewhere west of St. Louis
  1. Non-Student
I'm very new to the student doctor forum! Can anyone provide me any guidance on restrictions for a personal statement for post-bacc/SMP/MS?

For example, I'm aware of what can be too personal in personal statement essays ie. mental illnesses. Is there any other restrictions you would advise?

Also, if a school indicates that the personal statement is 500 words, should I remain in the 500-word capacity, or can I go over this? I've seen a few personal statement examples using 800-900 word counts.

Please answer kindly! Thank you.
Mention you goals and why that program, and what specifically you are looking for in from that program.

Reactions: 1 user
Jun 11, 2010
  1. Non-Student