Pharmacist (PharmD) taking MCAT advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nazzz

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am currently a retail pharmacist with one year of experience. I am planning on taking MCAT in April and hopefully start medical school in 2019. Currently, my practice MCATs are not on the higher end of the spectrum. Anyone has any insight as to how much of a help my PharmD degree can be during this process? I am sure it puts me at an advantage, but I don't know how much of an advantage it may be.

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone,

I am currently a retail pharmacist with one year of experience. I am planning on taking MCAT in April and hopefully start medical school in 2019. Currently, my practice MCATs are not on the higher end of the spectrum. Anyone has any insight as to how much of a help my PharmD degree can be during this process? I am sure it puts me at an advantage, but I don't know how much of an advantage it may be.

Thank you!

The same MCAT preparation advice that applies to anyone else, applies to you. You have to find which study method works best for you. However, if you are taking it in April and have not determined that yet, your straits may indeed be dire. I'd stretch it out until June if I were you. That way, you'll get your score back in July and that should be good enough if everything else is done by then, if you prewrite your secondaries and have them ready to submit as soon as your score comes in.

As for the PharmD helping you, do not expect it to be as much of an advantage as you probably think it should be. Is the rest of your application balanced? Research, community service, etc.?