Pharmacy Manager advice/Tips

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Johnny Rivera

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all, I've been a staff pharmacist in a store in California for one of the big three for about 3.5 years. They have just made the decision to promote me to take over the store as the pharmacist in charge.

I just have a couple of questions for those who have been in my situation and can offer advice for me. Obviously I've been working for years, so I've gone through my fair share of tyrant PIC's, laid back PIC's and nutjobs. But my biggest problem would be how to deal with techs who are disrespectful, who don't listen, or who talk back. Also, how to transition from being that staff RPH who was always kind of joking around with others, but now going to be one of those who commands respect.

Sometimes there are techs who I will have to tell them 3 or 4 times to go get pickup or drop off before they listen. other times other techs will talk back, or in a joking manner make fun of situations or not take their job seriously. How do you deal with them? Let's say someone named Marie takes too long to go to pickup or talks back, or says something disrespectful in a subtle way. Do you address it on the spot? How can you, when pharmacy is so busy all day and theres never an oppurtunity to address an issue? I feel like if you wait until the end of the day you will be reinforcing negative behaviors. Would having a 1 on 1 meeting with every staff member before becoming the manager help?

How do you balance being a fair manager but not being a tyrant? One who demands/commands respect but doesn't go too far? And how do you TRANSITION into this role after being on the sideline for so long?

Members don't see this ad.

Excelsior.
You have worked hard, and now the fruits of your labor have finally been recognized.