Pharmacy Rotation Commute - Is a 1.5 hour commute too much?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yelahfox

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey! This is my first time posting, I am a P3 student at UIC College of Pharmacy on the Rockford campus (about 75 miles away from Chicago). We recently learned about a longitudinal APPE where you would do your 4x core rotations at one the UChicago hospital. It sounds like a great opportunity that allows for research opportunities and first pick at rotation sites.

However, it would be an almost 2 hour commute from where I live now and I would only be able to move to a suburb and cut the commute down to 1-1.5 hours (depending on traffic). I am also going to look into public transportation (buses/CTA).

I wanted to reach out and see if anyone else has commuted this far daily for a rotation and what your experience was. Do you feel that it hindered you due to the time commitment driving?

Any feedback would be great! Thanks. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I actually drove to my Adult Medicine pharmacy APPE with a 1.5-hour commute. I had to leave at 6:30 am to be there by 8 am and left the rotation site at 6:30 pm 4 days per week. I was encouraged to go home and rest due to the long drive. However, I only had 4 actual days of work, which made time management all the more sweet as I had 3 days off. If it was another location with 5 days, I probably would not have found a way there. The driving only hindered my NAPLEX study time and my work time to pay for my rent, not my overall learning or in meeting the rotation objectives. I could listen to my lectures while driving as I had Bluetooth, but that would have eaten up my data: I only had 5 GB per month. This was also my non-preferred rotation as I was hoping to pursue Drug Information at Florida Hospital. Preceptor workload prevented that opportunity from surfacing.

I earned a B on that rotation.

Last edited: