Pharmacy school preparation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gf08

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I would appreciate some advice or guidance for my situation. I graduated with a bs in science chemistry premed with a cGPA of 3.23 in 2013. I have been out of school since then working lab jobs that I don’t really like. In college I did my undergrad research in an ochem lab and my favorite classes I took were my pharmacology classes. After much research and thought I have decided that I want to go to pharmacy school. My main goal is to work in the industry side of pharmacy. I know that I have been out of school for a while so my plan is to get my pharmacy tech certification and start working as a pharm tech and go back to school to get my post baccalaureate certificate and do some research in a lab so I can get letters of recommendation. Then I can take the pcat and apply to pharmacy schools. Is this a good plan? Is there another route to take? Any advice would be helpful. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Personally, I think that if you like the pharmacology aspect, your interests may be better suited for a PhD in the pharmaceutical sciences. Pharmacy school will focus on the clinical aspects of medicine rather than the knitty gritty sciences. It’ll probably be easier for you to land into a PhD program given your extensive experience in research also!

Reactions: 1 users
A PhD would be a better choice as it it is far cheaper and would open more doors into industry compared to a PharmD where the vast majority of the available jobs are in retail.