Pharmacy to Dentistry....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mo007

Gifted Hands
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone ,

I am new to this forum stuff. But after reading few of the posted threads, I found it very interesting to see how everyone feels applying to dental schools, and found more informative than what advisors told me about the application process.

I am currently a 1st yr pharmacy student at Mass. College of Pharmacy, and planning to change my career focus to Dentistry with the hope of attending a dental school. I got into the PharmD. program with 2 years of coursework. This means I completed all my gen. chem, o-chem, gen. biology, gen. physics, social sciences and humanities. My overall GPA is 3.18, and science 3.16. I have been pondering, if I have a chance at all.

I am taking Kaplan now, and hoping to take the DAT in october. My practise tests showed 15-18 socres in all areas.

Additionally, I shadowed dentistry with faculty members from Harvard Dental Clinic and Case. They both gave me good recommendations.

So... Any ideas if I have a chance? or wether I should not apply and wait another year.

Members don't see this ad.

Heya,

Your GPA is good enough to get into quite a few schools. Get a 20/20 on your DAT and you should be golden.

You should apply to the public dental schools in your state of residence (if there are any), because they usually give preference to in-state residents. And apply to a few private schools as well because they don't have residence preferences.

Good luck!

Thanks UBTom,

What schools would consider my profile. I want to apply to:

Case
BU
Indiana
Louisville
NYU
UOP
Columbia

Anyone who had similar profile, who got interview from those schools?

Mo007

Members don't see this ad :)
rock your DAT, and UoP won't care about your GPA.

Where are you from?