PhD to Masters to MSTP?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

redwoodtree

Reaction score
I'm in a difficult scenario where I have an acceptance to a PhD program abroad with a prestigious scholarship, but, ultimately I would would like an MD/PhD. Turning down the scholarship would be very difficult because it really is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Doing the MD after the PhD is an option but not ideal.
Is it possible to switch the PhD to a masters, then apply for MSTP at different schools later on with no limitations? I saw on a few sites that matriculants to PhD programs are ineligible to apply for MSTP unless they're already at the school which isn't possible for me. Does this still apply if you've already converted to a masters student at the time of application? At what point should I talk with my advisor about this? She seems very reasonable and understanding, but I'm afraid if I discuss this option now, it will reflect poorly on me as I never even gave it a shot there.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm in a difficult scenario where I have an acceptance to a PhD program abroad with a prestigious scholarship, but, ultimately I would would like an MD/PhD. Turning down the scholarship would be very difficult because it really is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. Doing the MD after the PhD is an option but not ideal.
Is it possible to switch the PhD to a masters, then apply for MSTP at different schools later on with no limitations? I saw on a few sites that matriculants to PhD programs are ineligible to apply for MSTP unless they're already at the school which isn't possible for me. Does this still apply if you've already converted to a masters student at the time of application? At what point should I talk with my advisor about this? She seems very reasonable and understanding, but I'm afraid if I discuss this option now, it will reflect poorly on me as I never even gave it a shot there.