Physics AND Organic Chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

coolcucumber91

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a freshman and a psychology major. Currently I am taking general chemistry 2 and biology 2. My schedule is pretty tough with both of those classes, since biology is a really tough course in my school and is a weed-out class. In the summer, I plan on taking cell biology and genetics.

Next semester, I plan on taking just 14 credits (organic chem 1, calculus 1, some honors program course, and some philosophy course). I wanted to focus on research... but even still, my schedule seems uncomfortably light.

My question is, should I just take physics 1 as well? I was originally planning on taking it the spring semester with orgo 2...

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Sounds like a lot, but then again many (if not most) students will have similar schedules. You'll either find a way to work through it or crash and burn.

If you're genuinely concerned and you don't HAVE to take physics I next semester, I would wait. There's no reason to cram courses like that without cause.

P.S. don't short sell the philosophy course. Depending on the course that could be a major time sink.

My schedule was VERY similar to your except for the fact of my taking calculus this year instead of next year. What I did was push back the philosophy class until later and took physics instead. That way my pre-reqs would be over and done with before Junior year.
But do not take 18 hours it's a real pain. Though I am doing well, I will never take 18 credit hours ever again!

Members don't see this ad :)
Don't think you have to over flow your plate just because your a pre-med. That being said, most schools will let you drop a course in the first two weeks if you don't like it, so you could try it and see if you can handle it. If not drop a course