Plants on PCAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sashagrl259

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I was wondering if anyone knows whether or not there are plant biology-type questions on the PCAT. Kaplan goes over plants a decent number of times, but how important is it?

Members don't see this ad.

I think knowing the basic plant hormones, basic tissues and what they do, reproductive structure would do. Its nothing as in depth as human anatomy.

I studied the plants, but there was nothing about them when I took the PCAT. I'd say focus on anatomy, general bio stuff (like enzymes & osmosis, etc.), and there were some ecology stuff too.

Yep, there was nothing from Plant Biology that I can remember. So, it is important yet not important. Meaning, just cover it for the sake of covering everything. That's it.

Members don't see this ad :)
yeh, just because its not on the last one doesn't mean its not on the next one.

Reading through the Kaplan book, I did not study anything about plants before the PCAT. That was a mistake:eek: I had at least 2 questions about plants on the June PCAT.

Good question. The Kaplan book does cover it quite a bit. On the Jan 2008 PCAT, there was at least one plant question (about sporophyte vs gametophyte being the dominant phase in a certain plant; the only bio question I guessed). I'm pretty sure that was the one and only plant question. So, in my opinion, you can get away with being less prepared for the plant part, and focus your studies on the other bio sections, because there will probably be only 1 or 2 plant questions. Your time is definitely better spent on A & P etc. Go over the plant material in Kaplan, but don't freak out about it. Good luck!