Plastic Surgery Residency Hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greenflower

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
When I was a medical student I wondered if a plastics resident would ever be called to the ER and that the hours are probably cush. Here I am after an ENT residency, now a new Plastic Surgery resident. Both are similar in that being a surgical subspecialty service there are fewer residents covering floors,clinic,consults,OR,etc; also, since a lot of surgical subspecialty service take "home call" like I did in both ENT and Plastics, you stay all day post-call. So when you are on hand&face call and don't sleep, be prepared for the occasional post-call free flap.

My point is, I think on paper the gen surg guys work more hours but I find that the "spread thin" factor is more in Plastics since fewer residents cover more bases and there is no night shift on Plastics. Overall, I think that we are much happier residents than gen surg.

But hey, this is the opinion of just one...

Greenflower,

I can speak to both issues.

i just finished training at a large, busy plastics program. There were times I was working balls-to-the-wall and clearly in violation (mostly because I wanted to learn, sometimes because we were shorthanded) but really, for most of my senior years of training was in compliance with the 80 hour workweek. I am in a hand fellowship now and the hours are quite a lot better.

As far as kids go, the best advice I can give is what a former female resident at our program told us:

There is no good time to have kids.

My wife and I have two children and we are both subspecialty surgeons. We had the first in the lab and my wife had our second one while training (she's a chief resident now). I don't know how she did it.