please suggest me-how an midwifery student can enter into M.D or dentistry field

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pearlin

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi

I am a midwifery student and i am doing my final year of my course.I want to pursue M.D(gynecology) or to become a dentist.Can any one suggest me what should i do to enter in these fields.

Members don't see this ad.

yes. first advice: figure out what you want to do for the rest of your life. being a gyn and being a dentist are two very different professions. they have some things in common since they are both healthcare professions, but you can't say "i want to be a gyn or a dentist".. you need to figure out what you want to do and why, and then focus on getting accepted

...they have some things in common...
Ya they deal with labial surfaces :laugh:

You need to figure out what you want to do. Since you are doing midwifery going into ob/gyn would make the most since, but to get there you need to start off at the same spot every pre-med student does, gen chem, bio, physics, english, ochem, MCAT, etc.
Then after you get into med school you would still need to fight for that residency, though I think being a midwife would help a little but its not guaranteed.
Why are you interested in both fields?

Members don't see this ad :)
hi

I am a midwifery student and i am doing my final year of my course.I want to pursue M.D(gynecology) or to become a dentist.Can any one suggest me what should i do to enter in these fields.
midwifery?!
what century are you from?

wow, what an interesting field of study you have!

Umm... as far as dentistry is concerned, you have to do it like everybody else: take your pre-reqs classes, take the DAT, shadow a dentist/do some sort of extracurricular (optional, but recommended), get some rec letters and apply!