please take time to read my story

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

irene_s01

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
so here's my story!

I am a medical student in a carribean school. I went to med school back home rite after high school and transferred into a carribean school. I already took my step 1 and am starting my rotations soon. I am worried about my lack of premed ... all i have is 40 credits from that year that i did back home considered as 40 credits of undergrad according to World Education services...

I am worried about my licensing! what should I do? i was thinking about taking my premed online while i do rotations but i dunno if this is such a good idea? SOMEONE PLEASE HELP! I AM FREAKING OUT! I MADE A MISTAKE AND I WANT TO FIX IT <<< I JUST DON:T KNOW HOW!

Members don't see this ad.

no i transferred from a 6 year program into a 4 year program ! my school didn;t know the difference,,

now i want to take those premed credits? do i really need all 90 or can i take the prerequisites?

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't see why you need these credits - if you graduate with an MD and pass all the steps, what's the deal?

need 90 credits for licensure rite?

90 credits from undergrad or 90 credits from med school?

oh wait, i get it. your med school credits from home count only as undergrad, and you transfered into carribean schools in year 3 and are starting rotations already - which means you skipped the basic science credits??

Irene,

It sounds to me like you really, REALLY need to call the licensing board, explain your story, and determine what they require of you.

If you're going to have to take 50 more credits, I don't see any possible way you'd be able to do something like that while in med school. You'd probably have to take at least a year off of med school, complete the necessary undergrad work, and then return and finish your 4th year rotations.