Podiatry Work hours and schedule compared to other medical specialties/fields

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedKid8399

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an incoming student at NYCPM and curious about the schedule of a podiatrist, whether surgical or more conservative care, compared to other medical specialties. I am excited about learning the material and eventually practicing and treating patients.

Notoriously, when one researches med school and many of the specialties, students and doctors often discuss the difficulty in maintaining balance with their hobbies/family/outside passions. I understand some specialties are less time consuming than others (family med versus neurosurgery).I feel like I have not received a clear cut answer on this and so, residents and podiatrists in this profession, how do you view your schedules? What are your typical hours and call? Do you believe there are specialities in med school that could provide similar hours and flexibility? Do you have time to get away, time for family, time to pursue hobbies/passions outside of your profession?

Thanks for your feedback and information.

Members don't see this ad.

My schedule sucks. Prior to covid I hit 80hrs a week some weeks but every week was at least 60hrs. I suppose I could be less busy if I wanted but that hospital never stops calling.

Covid has been a nice break as I have not had nearly as much work.

Reactions: 1 user
My schedule sucks. Prior to covid I hit 80hrs a week some weeks but every week was at least 60hrs. I suppose I could be less busy if I wanted but that hospital never stops calling.

Covid has been a nice break as I have not had nearly as much work.
That’s 10-12 hour days? Are you working weekends?

Members don't see this ad :)
I average about 50 hours per week. Probably around 60 if I am on call.