Post-bacc, DIY or uh-oh?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BSN2014

A nurse or something.
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a RN, worked as a medical-surgical staff nurse last year and am currently looking for a part-time or PRN position in public health, community health, or an MD's office with regular hours, so that I can devote most of my time to pre-requisite courses and MCAT preparation.

I graduated in May 2014 with a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from a local state university. My cumulative GPA was 3.4 - I am unsure of my science GPA, but I do know it was above 3.0. I have taken courses in chemistry, organic chemistry, anatomy & physiology I & II, microbiology & pathophysiology. I finished those courses around 3 years ago, prior to entering the BSN program.

Prior to taking pre-requisites for nursing school, I acquired an associates degree at a local CC. I graduated from that program with a 3.6 GPA. I have to admit, I attended a two-year degree program to try to make up for the fact that I dropped out of high school when I was 16. At the time, I was dealing with a death in the family as well as a severe physical illness. I had basically run out of coping mechanisms. I have since become MUCH better at dealing with stress, but I can't help shaking the thought that an error made as a teenager might keep me from pursuing my dream of being a doctor. How bad does my dropping out of high school when I was 16 look on a med school application?