Postbac timeline + Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Torsten22

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

First of all let me just say I appreciate whoever takes gets a chance to read this thread and any advice you guys could offer.
I'm a recent grad (May 2017) with a degree in bio from my state college "already with a gap year under my belt"- 2.9GPA (sGPA ~2.7) - took a big hit my junior and senior year of college. I was recently accepted to post-bac program in my state - after speaking with admissions and advisors I was advised to retake several courses (OChem I/II) (Biochem) (An&P I/II) (Microbio) and the rest would be upper-level courses "my grades for the intro courses ranging from A to B-" 18-26 credits overall to complete the program for students with science background like myself.

Overall profile:
+200 clinical - ED/clinic - I will be working as Scribe and continue volunteering at my local hospital and several nursing homes.
+100 nonclinical - clubs and organization
+20 shadowing experience - working on that
1-semester research...
Just for curiosity; I was planning on applying to several competitive SMPs but realized I might not be a complete applicant for a lot of those 1-year programs. I've spent 2 months of MCAT content review and recently took 2 practice tests my scores were 506 - 509. 1- Seeing that I got accepted to a post-bac would it be better to wait until next year to take the MCAT or take it by the end of this summer if i continued studying throughout June and July. I am worried about expiration before I apply.

My timeline is something like this: fall 2018 (classes) -> spring 2019 (classes) -> summer (research+mcat) -> fall 2019 (classes) -> spring 2020 (classes) -> summer (send out applications)