Postdoc fellowship (clinical psychology): Yes or no

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Should I do a postdoctoral fellowship?

I am a pre-doctoral intern in clinical psychology here in the East Coast, expecting to complete my dissertation and graduate by this coming June. I do not plan to practice clinical psychology (i.e., treat patients).

After my psychology degree is complete, my hope is to pursue a joint degree in JD/MPH. (Yes, yes. You can moan and groan now.) I hope to integrate my mental health background into the dynamics between public health and international human rights. My longer-term hope is to work in advocacy, mental health policy, and healthcare delivery within the context of human rights abroad.

While I have every intention to infuse my clinical psychology training into my future career, this does not include being a therapist/clinician. The postdoctoral fellowship is required in order to sit for the EPPP and to eventually acquire licensure. However, I wonder if in my particular situation having postdoctoral training has significant cache or meaning into my future work within public health and human rights. Or is it "simply" because it is otherwise required for licensing within the field of clinical psychology?

So, should I still pursue a postdoctoral fellowship?

Members don't see this ad.

I think half your life will be gone before you contribute much, but if you are set on that.....why not get licensed in a state that does not require a postdoc for licensure. There are like 12 or 14 of those now. Since you won't be practicing, you can still say you are licensed (although it would be a major pain for you to maintain that licensure i would think)

I am a pre-doctoral intern in clinical psychology here in the East Coast, expecting to complete my dissertation and graduate by this coming June. I do not plan to practice clinical psychology (i.e., treat patients).