Postdoctoral match follow up

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NeuropsychAJ

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a neuropsychology intern who accepted an out-of-match postdoc at my second choice site prior to the Neuro match which was awhile ago. However, when I received the offer, I contacted my first choice match site (per APPCN guidelines) and was given the APPCN answer that means I wasn't getting ranked. I'm very happy with the fellowship I accepted and am fully aware that this is a "first world problem" given the match statistics from this year, but after hearing my internship training director mention in passing that the only people who didn't get ranked were the ones who had made serious errors in the interview, this has been weighing on me. I had worked hard on that application, and felt like I had interviewed well. How appropriate is it to contact a site to ask for feedback on your interview/application? My reasons for doing so would be a) to find out if I was inadvertently displaying any "red flag" behavior so that I can improve for future faculty interviews, and b) find out if there is any training experiences I can seek out on fellowship/the remainder of internship that would allow me to be competitive with the institution (or others of similar caliber) for faculty positions?

Thank you all for your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Is your current internship site also the site that was first on your list (and the match site you contacted)? How is "serious error" operationalized? Sites are highly variable in their procedures, so I would not generalize. Think about it this way- if you had in fact blundered, you probably wouldn't be sitting there with one of your top choice post-docs.