Potential Medical Discharge for Hormone Therapy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ConcernedHPSP

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a medical student currently on HPSP scholarship. I was recently seen by a doc for fatigue and some performance issues. After bloodwork, I was given the option of testosterone replacement as an option due to having fairly low testosterone levels, esp for someone in their late 20s. I know TRT can be a fairly controversial topic, but I am considering this as I'm rather tired of feeling like crap everyday.

I know people successfully stay on AD on TRT but I also know HPSP is a bit of a murky area and I feel like people have definitely been medically DQ'd for less. If I do decide to pursue treatment, obviously I would inform my branch immediately. That said, my biggest fear is that this will result in me not only getting kicked out of service but also having to repay the scholarship. If anyone has been in a similar situation with a disqualifying condition popping up during medical school (such as ADHD, etc.) I would love any advice on your experience.

Members don't see this ad.

I agree with disclosing it but it could be disqualifying.

I was an Air Force PA and had to complete many MEBs (medical evaluation boards). I can’t remember off the top of my head if testosterone therapy is disqualifying. I would say likely not but you may have limitations on your deployment status if you require an injectable medication.

Members don't see this ad :)
I agree with disclosing it but it could be disqualifying.

I was an Air Force PA and had to complete many MEBs (medical evaluation boards). I can’t remember off the top of my head if testosterone therapy is disqualifying. I would say likely not but you may have limitations on your deployment status if you require an injectable medication.

Could use topical.

Do what is best for your health.

Disclose it to HPSP