Pre-med courses in one year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rhys

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'd love some advice from the experienced science students! I did my B.A and M.A. in English, and now am going to apply to med. school. I want to finish the required science courses in one year (2 semesters, possibly 3.) I don't want to take 2 years, as I already feel 'behind' and plus I don't want to waste any more student loans than absolutely necessary. I believe I'm determined enough to pull this off--plus I figured it would be a good test for med. school--but I have NO science background and wonder if it's possible. For instance, I would take 4 classes each semester: Chemistry I, Biology I, Physics I, and Organic ChemI, then the second part of those the next semester. These seem to be all med schools require. In the third semester, I'd probably take an anatomy or biochemistry course. Is it possible to take Organic Chem and Chem I (which I assume is Inorganic) at the same time? Or does one build off the other? I guess what I'm asking is if these courses are different enough so that one isn't a pre-requisite for another. I'd appreciate any help, thank you!!!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi,
First I'll assume you have all the neccesary math for chemistry and physics.
I would suggest talking to a pre-med counselor or advisor at your school. at my school, you had to finish all the inorganic chemistry before organic. but, it may be different at your school.
It WILL be an intense load, in any case -- especially since you have no background. usually those classes all have labs, and are difficult classes and long labs (especially organic chemistry). But, it's possible.
I would definetly talk to an advisor at your school, and look up course pre-reqs there. Maybe talk to some of the profs who teach the classes.
Good luck,
Sonya