Pre-PhD Clerkships...feeling burned out...is it safe to "high pass?"

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Datypicalpremed

Feed me Seymour!
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in a bit of a unique situation...

I'm a MD/PhD student who has finished my step 1 exam and am taking the required clerkships before entering my PhD years. I seriously ****ed up in that I thought I didn't need a vacation before clerkships started and pretty much used the vacation time my school gave me to study harder for the step 1. I pretty much took the step, took the weekend off and began clerkships the next week. Genius, I know.

My first clerkship is Surgery.

Needless to say, I'm feeling pretty burnt out. I'm trying my best to "smile and wave" in my clerkship, but I don't know how much longer I can keep up the facade. I was never much of a morning person and adjusting to waking up at 4 AM in the morning has really messed me up. I was one of those people who actually didn't mind the mental grind of the first 2 years, but the constant pimping by attendings/residents alike and inflexible schedule of this clerkship has been a whole new level of hell that was more than I expected. I bet I'm not the only person who has felt this way at the start of clerkships...but I guess it just feels good to let it all out...

Anyways, my main concern is this: I'm interested in fields considered pretty competitive. This includes Ophthalmology, Plastics and Radiation Oncology (especially). I've been told you need honors/etc. to get into these specialties. However, I got a pretty solid step 1 score (250). I also don't mind spending more time in my PhD to get strong publications (I never minded staying late in lab cause I honestly enjoy research - the flexibility eg going to the gym next door while waiting for an experiment to end helped too I guess...).