This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

d0cintheb0x

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm a medical student and I need some advice. So, a while back, I took part in a PD question answer panel at my base hospital. Almost all of the PDs agreed that it is best to send an email saying basically "hey I'm ranking you #1 in the rank process". I misunderstood and thought that I should send that email as soon as I'm "sure" that I'm ranking them #1. Needless to say, the EM program at my base institution was my top interest at the time after auditioning there so I sent an email saying thanks for the audition and "As things stand, your EM program is my number 1 in terms of rank order, and I don't foresee that changing. I will keep in touch about how things go with other hospital auditions and if anything changes." Yes, I understand this was a foolish email to send this early in the process.
After auditioning a few more times and making my way through all of my EM interviews, I have realized that I may like other programs better than my base hospital. I'm wondering if or how I should tell the program I may not be ranking them #1. If I say nothing and I match there, no harm, no foul. If I say nothing and don't rank there, I feel like I lied to them. Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

• Okay...
Reactions: 1 user