Nov 13, 2010
Status
Pre-Medical
So I'm studying for my chem I final and I ran across a question that is asking about acidity:

Which Brønsted acid (HCl (aq) or H2S (aq)) is the stronger acid and why is it the stronger acid?

Answer:

HCl is the stronger acid because chlorine has a greater electronegativity than sulfur, which gives the attached hydrogen atom more proton character.

I'm not understanding the reference to proton character. I have searched the internet and found nothing that talks to this nor can I find anything in my notes or textbook.

Can any of you enlighten me on proton character in this context?

Appreciate it!

jvesco22

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Jan 29, 2009
Status
This thread has been reported by several members due to statements about homework and finals. SDN takes such statements seriously and we would like to remind all posters that SDN should not serve as a place to obtain tuotring or other advice regarding significant homework issues. Anyone who is contemplating failing should immediately seek professional tutoring advice, not rely on SDN or other non-professional resources.

At this time, given the nature of the thread and the concerns expressed, SDN will close this thread. (not srs)

But your thread will get locked! Peace.

Hah

7+ Year Member
Sep 4, 2009
Status