psych gre

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ktwallis

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
so i know a lot of us are about to take the Psych GRE in the next few months... so i thought i'd open up a thread so we can talk about strategy / frustrations / ask questions and advice of those who have already taken it...

i'm studying from Kaplan's book for the Nov 4th test - and to start off i guess i had some questions i thought i'd ask and see if anyone who has taken the test could give some advice

~ so i guess my main question is - how specific should my knowledge be? do i really have to know the name of all 8 developmental "crisis" stages that Erik Erikson developed in order and know what each stage means? are they really going to nit pick on that? how about Kohlberg's stages of moral development? all 6 in order with descriptions? there is only so much my post-college brain can handle these days - and i want to make sure i'm not going 100% overboard here... any thoughts?!

Members don't see this ad.

I think it depends on what kind of score you want to get. My impression of the Psyc GRE was that the bulk of the questions were fairly conceptual (not "nic picky") and based around pretty general topics that most people with undergraduate psyc degrees should be familiar with (e.g. Piaget's stages of development, the physiological basis of an action potential, some of the major experiments in social psych, basic stats - that kind of thing).

For these questions, I thought Kaplan’s study guide was perfectly adequate. It spends too much time on psychodynamic theory and has WAY too many names, but overall it's a nice review. If you know that book, you should get at least a 600.

The rest of questions were pretty random. More in the line of "describe the findings of this obscure experiment."