Psychology major and pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Starlingbruin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am currently a student at a cc looking to transfer to a UCLA. I am currently a psychology major and my ultimate goal is to go to med school. Do you suggest that I stay at my cc longer to complete bio/chem courses to transfer in as a bio/psychobio/or physiosci major? My original plan is to transfer in as a psychology major and complete pre-med reqs while at cc AND at UCLA when I tansfer. Since my top school of choice is UCLA, and admissions is competitive, does anyone recommend that I do not start my bio/chem courses until I enter UCLA? I heard that many students take their pre-med courses at their cc while attending university. I would like to maintain my gpa for when I apply to med school. Also, would majoring in psychology and taking pre-med classes be much to difficult, rather than "killing two birds with one stone" and going the bio route? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I am currently a student at a cc looking to transfer to a UCLA. I am currently a psychology major and my ultimate goal is to go to med school. Do you suggest that I stay at my cc longer to complete bio/chem courses to transfer in as a bio/psychobio/or physiosci major? My original plan is to transfer in as a psychology major and complete pre-med reqs while at cc AND at UCLA when I tansfer. Since my top school of choice is UCLA, and admissions is competitive, does anyone recommend that I do not start my bio/chem courses until I enter UCLA? I heard that many students take their pre-med courses at their cc while attending university. I would like to maintain my gpa for when I apply to med school. Also, would majoring in psychology and taking pre-med classes be much to difficult, rather than "killing two birds with one stone" and going the bio route? Thanks!