PTs and PTAs: Tell me about your caseload and setting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dannibambi

Physical Therapist
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a new grad PT and I'm curious about caseloads in different settings because I'm finding that my clinical rotation caseloads (particularly, number of evals per day) are not typical.

PTAs: How many follow-up patients do you see in a typical 8-10 hour day and what setting do you work?

PTs: How many evaluations you do on a typical day and how long are your evals? How many follow-up patients do you see per day and what setting di you work?

On my rotations in a SNF I had 2-4 evals/day, (60 minutes) in OP ortho I had 1-2 per day (40 minutes), and OP neuro I had one every few weeks and supplemented with ortho patients so I did approx. 1 eval per week (60 minutes).
Now at my new job in OP ortho I average 5 (30-60 minute) evals per 8-hour day but there are days I have had 8 or more, and our clinic director often sees 8-12 (30 minute) evals per day. I used to do hour evaluations but now the company is cutting the PTs back down to 30 minute evals including treatment.
I was wondering what is typical for other OP clinics, as well as SNF, home health, inpatient, acute rehab, etc. for PTs. Thank you so much in advance for your responses!

Members don't see this ad.

I work in home health. On average, I see 4-6 patients per day (6 patients if they are all routine follow-up visits, 4 if it's a mix of evals, start of care, and follow ups). In home health, anything more than 6-7 patients per day is unreasonable unless all of your patients are within 5 minutes of each other with no traffic.

There are many factors to consider for home health. If you want to know more, feel free to message me.

Reactions: 1 users