Pursue a second residency after FM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PteFabulous

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi SDN,

I am a FM resident considering pursuing a second residency in IM when I'm done. Ever since med school, I wanted to be an intensivist, that was my original goal. I started residency in gen surge, but transferred after a year to FM. I transferred for multiple reasons; crazy hours, unsupportive work environment, and being long distance was taking a toll on my marriage. Now I have a year left of FM and have to look for jobs, but I can't say I'm excited about any particular practice opportunity.

I'm considering applying for IM with the goal of sub specializing in CCM. If I don't get it, then I would do GIM. The thought of more training doesn't bother me, but I am worried that I may not be happy in IM either.

I have felt a little lost after switching from gen surge, I used to have a plan that was working out well, and now I am just confused.

Any perspective and advice is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

just do FM. it's a good field.

I have a hospitalist rotation coming up, so I'll see how that goes.

I also wonder if it'll get better when I'm an attending, and not a resident anymore...

Ever since med school you wanted to be an intensivist......so you matched general surgery for a year and then went fm?

Reactions: 4 users
FM was originally my second choice if I didn't in to gen surg. FM was a easy transfer, open spot in my hometown, quick transfer within 1 month of my request. It's very difficult to keep the end goal in mind when you're sleep deprived and angry all the time.

I hope it does get better! Maybe practicing for at least a year first might help give me some perspective.

Thanks for all your advice!

Reactions: 1 user