This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FamilyMedicineGuy

Reaction score
What are my chances of getting into Anesthesiology residency? I am a full fledged practicing family medicine physician. I graduated from a US medical school (DO). I have COMLEX scores but I did not take USMLE. What is the likelihood of a program even reviewing my application let alone offering an interview without USMLE scores? I could take USMLE now, however it would be quite difficult studying for the test while working a full time job. I just want to know how important it would be to have USMLE or not seeing as I have COMLEX scores and I have passed ABFM boards. Would appreciate any advice!

Below are my stats:

Undergrad: Biochemistry major at UC Riverside California
Graduated medical school: 2015
Graduated FM residency: 2018
Working independently as a FM physician for 5 years now.
Titles and accolades: Chief resident, medical director of the hospital and nursing home, wound clinic director.
I cover the ER and have lots of experience with intubation, chest tubes etc (The frequency of these procedures is weekly).
I can get strong LOR from family medicine program director, colleague physicians, and general surgeon from my hospital.
I am also able to get a strong LOR from an Anesthesiologist that previously held a faculty position at an anesthesia residency program.

COMLEX level 1 - 578 (top 24%)
COMLEX level 2 - 576 (top 34%)
COMLEX level 3 - 571 (top 45%)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: