• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

Pursuing Business/Accounting Degree (Current Vet Student)

Cowlover99

2+ Year Member
May 28, 2017
Hey everyone!

I am currently a veterinary student (just finished my first year) who is interested in practice ownership after graduation. I found out that the school I went to for undergrad offers business/accounting degrees online. I would need to take 14 additional courses to get another bachelors and it would cost $20,000. My local community college also offers an online associates accounting degree, which I could complete for under $10,000. Do you guys think it is worth me spending money to complete a degree or should I just take certain courses that would be useful. If so, what courses would you recommend? I have not taken many business courses. Thanks!

EB73674

Ohio State c/o 2025
2+ Year Member
Apr 4, 2017
I don’t think there’s any point in getting an accounting degree that you may or may not ever use, and while an MBA can potentially be helpful, it’s far from necessary. Take a look at whatever your school offers for business/practice ownership and see if you can find an internship with a veterinarian-owned practice to get a little insight. You definitely don’t need a business degree to own a practice, and you likely won’t see a good return on investment on the amount of money you put in.

Reactions: 1 users
About the Ads

itsrocky

Ain’t nothing gonna break my stride!
2+ Year Member
Nov 17, 2018