• SDN Site Updates

Hey everyone! The site will be down for approximately 2 hours on Thursday, August 5th for site updates.

• How To ACE Your Medical School Interview

In this webinar hosted by SDN with experts from BeMo Academic Consulting, you will learn a simple five-step process to help you translate your interview invitation into an acceptance.

Pheesh

10+ Year Member
Feb 25, 2007
Status (Visible)
Once you receive an interview, are all applicants basically considered equal as far as grades, scores, and relevant experience is conserned? My grades and scores aren't the best compared to others, but I have two years of experience in retail and am currently working in a hospital pharmacy. Does getting the interview mean that they are content with all of the above or will they review it even further? Thanks everyone.

rw24

10+ Year Member
Jan 30, 2007
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacy Student
I would not say that everyone is equal when you get to the interview stage. The way I believe most schools do things is that they will give a score to your GPA, PCAT, and the interview performance. Then they will accept the people that have the best average score of all of these (some schools call it I believe QPA). So if you do excellent at the interview may be you will be ranked ahead of someone that has better GPA & PCAT ,but did not do very well during the interview. So I would say that most of the schools will definitely review your complete application further after the interview.

TennisBoy78

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
Feb 1, 2006
Status (Visible)
  1. Pre-Pharmacy
Not necessarily because you don't know a school's intentions. At this point, a school may still be determining their regular class seats OR may be compiling their alternate list. You would not know unless you ask the particular school to which you are interviewing.