question about math and science classes

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j787

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi ive been looking around on the forum for a while and decided to join. Ive just started taking classes this year at my local cc. Since i was a kid i was always thinking about pharmacy. I graduated high school in 2010 but my last two years of high school were a little rough due to some health problems. I didnt get as much math and science as i would of liked to. So i am trying to catch up know. One questions is what do you guys find helpful when you try to study for math? Math is not my strong area and im really struggling in it. Do you guys find that anything in particular helps you study better? Also i tried taking and intro to chemistry class this fall but had to drop it because i was not ready for the math in it. One other question about chemistry class i was wondering is do you guys have to memorize the periodic table and know how to spell each element correctly? Also any advice for someone who is just starting out on what would be helpful and what wouldnt? Thanks for any advice

Members don't see this ad.

I'm probably not the most qualified person to give advice because I'm only halfway through my pre-reqs, but math was not my strong suit either. So the best thing I can tell you to do is become immersed in math. Don't procrastinate on your homework, go to your tutoring center and your school's math lab if they have one, and study, study, study! I also recommend this website: purplemath.com [idk if posting links is against TOS, please forgive me in advance].

As far a science - I don't have much advice, because it comes pretty naturally to me. But again, study. Be disciplined. School is your new job. Do your best! Memorize if you have to...including spelling.