question about the med school experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sweetsangria

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is probably a dumb question and people on this board have probably answered it a million times but here goes...

So what is med school like academically? I'm a sophomore undergrad and I've only recently decided to consider medical school and I still have over half the requirements left. I'm really not enjoying these science classes and I've realized that I don't really know what medical school is like (sure I know the admissions stuff, but nothing about the actual experience) Is medical school pretty much 4 years of science classes?

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, I have a question for you. How can you be passionate about medicine if you don't enjoy science?

Yes, medical school is a combination of science classes and patient interaction.

Good luck!

sweetsangria said:
This is probably a dumb question and people on this board have probably answered it a million times but here goes...

So what is med school like academically? I'm a sophomore undergrad and I've only recently decided to consider medical school and I still have over half the requirements left. I'm really not enjoying these science classes and I've realized that I don't really know what medical school is like (sure I know the admissions stuff, but nothing about the actual experience) Is medical school pretty much 4 years of science classes?

I think he meant he did not enjoy science CLASSES. Who does?

Med school in my opinion is like orgo to the max. Lots of minutia, mostly irrelevant. There are interesting parts, but you are mainly tested on ridiculous detail. Its two years of total hell in classes, but then the job itself is awesome, or so i imagine.