question abt volunteering hrs!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

passionMD

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi
I've been volunteering at MSKCC for abt 2 yrs but i have only about a 100hrs. Its b/c i skipped all winters, summers and the month of finals during semesters. Are they going to look down upon the low amt of hours that i made in those 2 HUGE years? I'm also gonna volunteer at NY Presbyterian which requires you to volunteer 4 hrs each week. I think this will force me to show up more regularly and not slack off. will be applying to med skools next yr. So what do u guys think? will it really look bad?

Members don't see this ad.

2 years and about 4 total day of volunteering...not exactly great when I see it.

ti89 said:
2 years and about 4 total day of volunteering...not exactly great when I see it.

yes, it's not great! but is it too bad? i mean until next yr i'll hopefully have made 200+ in total (considering that i won't slack off in NYP)

Members don't see this ad :)
ti89 said:

Are you an adcom member?? I don't think so.

There is no set amount of hours that makes a good amount. It is more the quality of what you got out of it, and the committment that you showed to the said activity.

It's called "volunteering" b/c you do it on your own time, when you are available. 100 hours of volunteering is 100 more than alot of people have done. I wouldnt dwell on it. I did about 150 hours of volunteering over 2 years. But I did it only during the summers, one 8 hour day a week (b/c i was working full time). I'm still putting it down.

were you supposed to state your hours? i only stated the schedule and the hours per week that i volunteered. but honestly i think they care more about what you experienced and learned than how much you did. i dont even think they verify your hours most of the time... but if you're lying it's very easy for them to tell.