Questions....

D

deleted316655

So, I am a high school freshman interested in becoming a neurosurgeon. It may seem like I am stressing for no reason as I have a long time to go before I reach a point in my life where my grades will have any significant affect, however I plan on going to a 6,7, or 8 year program. I was thinking about going to the UMDNJ program that is partnered with either Princeton, Rutgers, or The College of New Jersey. I was also thinking about going to Drexel University, or to Seton Hall and having a dual program in medicine and law. Has anyone been to any of these programs, or does anyone haeard from others about it? Also, I have a question about shadowing a doctor. I was thinking about asking my primary care physician, but I do not know her very well so that was ruled out. I asked a couple of doctors and they said they were too busy with other students; they did seem very nice which motivated me to ask some more doctors who have not yet replied. Do you think that, being a high school freshman, I am too young to shadow a doctor, or do you think I should keep trying? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I don't think you're too young, but you may run into some brick walls because of your perceived age and maturity level. It's also a bit of a liability to let someone shadow, so you usually have to find just the right person. If you know a friend of the family, someone at your church/other religious group, or someone else who can otherwise vouch for you, that will be your best bet. Don't stress too much about getting something right this second and be open to a lot, including possibly biomedical research.