Ranking Morristown Memorial Hospital,NJ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scaphoid

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is any one ranking Morristown Memorial Hospital, NJ? I liked most of the faculty (Private Surgeons). As a medical student, I saw and was told by the residents that most of the residents are not below 80 hours a week. There is huge struggle to cut down in the hours but as private hospital it seems to be easier said then done. Overall teaching is none existence, in the wards, OR, and conference. There is an attempt at teaching once a week as morning conference by the residents. Some of the residents told me that the chief’s that graduated in 2003 all failed their boards. I like to go to strong community program, but some of these things are troubling.I want my five years to be worth the commitment.

Members don't see this ad.

I have heard good things about Morristown, especially how nice the hospital is and the facilities and how they are trying to keep the program "friendly". But you do not want to go to a program where recent chiefs are not passing the boards and there is a problem with resident work hours. The ACGME will cite that program quickly and that is a major problem.

But of course the decision is yours...me I would prefer to go to a "worse" hospital ie more work, less ancillary staff, non-private but where there is strong evidence that recent chiefs are doing well and are getting fellowships where they want. Good luck!

I did a rotation there and can confirm that ALL of the 2003 chiefs failed their boards and at least one of the 2004 chiefs also failed. One of my classmates said the PD approached her in the elevator and asked about this site and scutwork. I hear he is leaving. Even as a student I can see a lot of friction between the chairman and attendings. The residents get caught in the middle which is bad for morale.