Reapply? Because I'm Confused

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

scdocusc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So here is my story. My stats are a 22 on the MCAT a 3.6 overall GPA and 3.39 science GPA. I worked in a hospital for 2 years as a phlebotomist so I have lots and lots of patient exposure. I applied this past cycle (2007) to Nova and VCOM. I got flat out rejections from Nova and an interview then a rejection from VCOM. When I called up VCOM and talked with Megan, she suggested that I take 2 upper level biology classes, retake the MCAT and volunteer at the free medical clinic in town. I want to do all of that but I dont really have the finances to do all of them. In addition, I dont believe that I would be able to complete all of them in satisfactory manor. I Called Megan and she told me that should couldnt speak for the Adcom but she suggested that I take the two upper level biology courses since VCOM looks at GPA heavily. So, given all of this, I am taking more courses and volunteering more. I'm just worried that since I wasnt placed on the "waitinglist" that I wasnt even close to admission. What should I do? should I do what she said and take my chances or should I try to do them all and accept mediocre grades in all the areas? Also, I've looked at the reapplicant board but there is not much. I was wondering if anyone out there knows if they look down upon reapplicants at VCOM? I know this post was long to read but I really need as much input as I can get. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

"I want to do all of that but I dont really have the finances to do all of them. In addition, I dont believe that I would be able to complete all of them in satisfactory manor."

Why do you believe that you will not be able to do good on those classes?
You should have some confidence in yourself.