Rec Letters

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spillsomepaint

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Is there anything else I should do besides sending out an email thanking professors for their time in writing rec letters? I want to make them feel as appreciated as possible (esp. if I have to go through another round of letters next year) w/o going over board. So what advice might you all have!

tia.

Members don't see this ad.

I sent out Thank You cards with a gift certificate in them.

I'm sending each person a print from my personal photography collection (i shoot photography on the side. The prints will be nature mostly, with one being from New Orleans). I wanted to give them something meaningful, but not have it be expensive (remember, I'm a poor grad student!). All of my letter writers are people I've worked with closely, so I tried to match the print with the person.

Don't feel like you need to do something this personal, I just decided it would be something nice and relatively easy for me to do.

-t

ps. My better work is from 2007, so if you look at my gallery, just keep that in mind....:D

Members don't see this ad :)
Since applications were due a few weeks before Christmas, I got each of my recommenders some holiday chocolate and a card. One prof seemed surprised. A token of some sort is nice, but don't feel like you *have* to give anything, and DEFINITELY don't spend a lot of money (I'd say $10 each is a good upper limit; spending more than that seems excessive).

However, I get the feeling that a note saying thanks is really all that's expected.