Recent Resident Who is Happy to Provide Current Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vindedits

Reaction score
Hey y'all,

I am a recent medical school graduate (from a NY school) who is now completing residency in CA. I came into medical school thinking I wanted to do surgery but eventually realized that I was more interested in primary care provision. I remember the huge monolithic barrier that was the whole medical school process, as such I am more than happy to provide advice about the process, share my own thoughts on the different specialties, and talk through what I believe that medical schools and residencies are looking for.

Let me know if you have any questions!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
How difficult was it obtaining a residency position in CA? Do you have ties? I don't live there and don't have ties but think it would be somewhere I would like to do residency.

From anecdotal knowledge, CA is a more competitive geographic location for residency. There is a lot of conflicting information in general about the ties/roots to a location for residency. I personally didn't really have too many ties to the region, however I stated my interest and reasons for my interest in the location and it was clearly well received. From my experience, its all about showing why you would be a good resident in a location. If that includes doing an away to "unlock" said region then you can do that. It could also be how well you fit into the mould of the specific residency program you're considering. I don't think there is a clear answer anyone will be able to give about this but to err on the side of caution think about what you can do to show your interest in a program or location.

Members don't see this ad :)
Congrats!

1.)Any tips for academic success in med school?

2.) If you have a moment, I would like to talk a little bit about research involvement in med school.