Recertifying income as an attending for PSLF

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alemo

Snowflake Millennial
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I was a resident during COVID and am about to start my first attending job. How much can I expect my repayment amount to increase? For the purposes of this estimation, I am going from a salary of 75,000 to 230,000. My partner is making 130,000. My loan amount is ~260,000.

I was paying around 875 monthly throughout residency and fellowship.

Also, I'm planning on recertifying soon with my fellowship salary, so as to get one more year of lower repayments.

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
It's whatever the stated % of your income your repayment plan says it is.

That's a cut of your gross pay, though, so it feels like more.

I have some unsolicited advice to add - don't let the need to be employed for PSLF cause you to fail to run the numbers on a gig or enterprise that doesn't qualify for PSLF. Private practice for example.

PSLF is an all right deal but so is making a ton of money and paying the loans yourself in a few years.

Reactions: 5 users

I have some unsolicited advice to add - don't let the need to be employed for PSLF cause you to fail to run the numbers on a gig or enterprise that doesn't qualify for PSLF. Private practice for example.

PSLF is an all right deal but so is making a ton of money and paying the loans yourself in a few years.

Adjusted gross income, not gross income. If you lower your AGI your payment amounts will also lower, such as maxing out retirement accounts.