General Admissions & OTCAS Rejection Advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OTgirl29

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been rejected from just about every school I applied to. This is my first time applying...but I'm feeling a bit bummed and discouraged. Has anyone applied a second time around and gotten in? What would your advice be moving forward?

Members don't see this ad.

I've been rejected from just about every school I applied to. This is my first time applying...but I'm feeling a bit bummed and discouraged. Has anyone applied a second time around and gotten in? What would your advice be moving forward?

I've applied a second time to only one school TWU and got rejected this time rather then put on waitlist then get rejected. Luckily I got into D'youville. even though the distance from Houston, TX to Buffalo, NY is ... well quite the distance.

I ended up finding a job after I did more hours of observation. (still not good enough for TWU) My grades were not top tier GPA: 3.43 Pre-req: 3.3 Last 60: 3.8 GRE: 143V 151Q 4E. I just applied to more schools and hope for the best

I applied my second time this year. Last year I only applied to one school and I didn't finish up my undergrad courses until last summer, which may have impacted my rejection. This year I applied to 6 schools and have been accepted to 2 so far and wait listed at 1 (invited to interview at 2 others but I declined them since I had already gained acceptance at a preferred school). What I did to boost my application was: 1. finish all my classes and graduate 2. complete a LOT more observations across a variety of settings 3. retake the GRE (for the 4th time) and got a higher writing score 4. re-write my personal statement and have several grad-school educated people proofread it 5. get new letters of rec from OTs I had completed a substantial amount of observations with

Good luck!

Reactions: 1 user