Religious EC's

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

njcaldwell

Mr. Banana-Grabber
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

Out of Curiosity, what are adcoms stances on alot of time with Religious EC's. For instnace I am a Youth Pastor (10 hrs/week), Director of Campus ministry (4 hrs/week), College Mens Bible study leader (5 hrs/week)

Members don't see this ad.

If you've spent time doing it and its important to you should definitely go ahead and list it.

should not be a problem-- it's still good leadership/volunteering/etc.... and many/most schools have religious clubs.

Members don't see this ad :)
njcaldwell said:
Hey Guys,

Out of Curiosity, what are adcoms stances on alot of time with Religious EC's. For instnace I am a Youth Pastor (10 hrs/week), Director of Campus ministry (4 hrs/week), College Mens Bible study leader (5 hrs/week)
why no application to loma linda? aren't they like a christian med school? you'd get in for sure.

I agree with the consensus. You have spent a lot of time doing these EC's and I'm quite sure that they mean something to you. Definitely add them.

Also, physicians tend to be a conservative group in general. A lot of the docs I know are practicing at least some kind of religion (a good majority are Christian) and I can't imagine that a religious background/lifestyle hurts you.

I WOULD say that applying to a school like UCSF and saying that "My religion prohibits me from advancing stem cell research" might give you a little bit of a problem. So for your best shot- talk about it, but don't say anything too radical...

wht about if you were very active in bible studies but since have dropped them. Does those still count?

Depakote said:
There aren't that many Devout Athiest medical schools out there... most of them are pretty open to alternative (i.e. Christian) lifestyles.