Remediation and residency impact

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cryingfromanxiety

Reaction score
I’m a first year DO student who is interested in either neurosurgery or neurology. I failed my physiology course and have to remediate it. I’m also considered an international student because I’m from Canada. I’m super concerned for how badly this remediation can impact my chances of getting residencies in my areas of interest.
How can I work to improve and possible help make the situation less concerning? I’d really appreciate all the advice.

Members don't see this ad.

For neurosurgery, any blemish, especially as a DO, pretty much ruins your chances. For neurology, you’ll be fine. It’s not competitive.

Reactions: 1 user
Agree with above. Neurosurgery was always going to be a major reach as an international DO, and failing a course is going to be very hard to impossible to overcome. But neuro is doable.

It's trite, but you need to focus on why you failed and just fix the problem right now. Don't worry about anything else until you settle into a groove academically.

• Love
Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Agree with above. Neurosurgery was always going to be a major reach as an international DO, and failing a course is going to be very hard to impossible to overcome. But neuro is doable.

It's trite, but you need to focus on why you failed and just fix the problem right now. Don't worry about anything else until you settle into a groove academically.
Could any shadowing experience or some stellar LOR's possibly help in my case? Neurosurgery has always been a top choice for me, and I would hate to lose the opportunity to become a neurosurgeon.

Could any shadowing experience or some stellar LOR's possibly help in my case? Neurosurgery has always been a top choice for me, and I would hate to lose the opportunity to become a neurosurgeon.